You will not pass a background check to drive for Uber or Lyft if you have a driving while intoxicated DWI conviction that is less than seven years old even if you have paid the legal penalties, gotten your license reinstated, and had no further legal troubles since your DWI. Accordingly, you will have to wait at least seven years from your conviction date to drive for one of these companies.
As the ride-sharing industry has come under recent scrutiny, companies have tightened their driver screening processes. The likelihood of slipping through with a DWI on your record is almost nil. If you are facing charges or have been convicted of DWI in Texas, though, you have options to keep it off your record. A Texas DWI defense lawyer can help. Call Eddington Worley, at 855-600-6695 if you have any questions about driving for Uber or Lyft with a DWI on your record and/or for a free case evaluation.
Uber and Lyft’s Driving Record Requirements
Uber and Lyft both check your driving and criminal records before activating you as a ride-share driver. The requirements to become an Uber driver are:
- No more than three traffic violations in the past three years
- No DUI/DWIs or reckless driving violations in the past seven years
- If driving in California, no drunk driving offenses in the past 10 years
- No speeding violations in excess of 20 miles per hour over the limit in the past three years
Lyft’s requirements are similar:
- No more than three minor traffic violations (e.g., speeding, running a stop sign) in the past three years
- No major traffic violations (e.g., reckless driving) in the past three years
- No DUI/DWIs or drug-related driving offenses in the past seven years
- No driving-related felony convictions (e.g., vehicular assault, hit-and-run) in the past seven years
Neither company grants any exceptions to the seven-year rule for DWI convictions. If you are currently facing DWI charges and want to drive for Uber or Lyft, it is essential that you avoid a conviction. A lawyer can help. Depending on the circumstances of your arrest, an attorney can create enough reasonable doubt to get your charge dropped, or they can fight to get your DWI reduced to a lesser charge.
If you have already been convicted, there are ways to get your DWI off your record to make sure you are allowed to drive for Uber or Lyft, and a lawyer can help you do it. The most common is to apply for non-disclosure of your DWI conviction. Find out about a dismissal of a DWI case.
Non-Disclosure of DWI Convictions
A newly passed Texas law in 2017 allows for non-disclosure of DWI convictions in certain cases. Non-disclosure means your conviction technically remains on your record, but it is sealed and thus not visible to anyone who checks your background. The requirements to have your DWI conviction sealed are:
- It was your first DWI offense. Find out when a DWI is a felony.
- You had a BAC of less than 0.15%. Learn about what to do if police claim your BAC is above .08% but you know this isn’t correct.
- You have completed the terms of your sentence and paid all court costs.
- You have not been convicted or given deferred adjudication for any crimes since your DWI conviction (other than minor traffic violations).
- You have completed the mandatory waiting period, which is usually two years but possibly less if your sentence involved only a fine.
Call 855-600-6695 for a Free Consultation With a Texas DWI Defense Lawyer
If you are facing DWI charges or want to get a conviction off your record so you can drive for Uber or Lyft, a DWI defense lawyer from Eddington Worley can help. We fight for the rights of the accused. Our team offers a free consultation and is eager to get to work for you. Call 855-600-6695 to get started today on our assistance with being allowed to drive for Uber or Lyft with a DWI on your record.