Once you serve your suspension, you must take a specific series of steps to reinstate your Texas driver’s license. This includes paying fees, submitting paperwork, and going to get a new license. Drunk driving convictions result in both administrative and criminal driver’s license suspensions in many cases. You will need to wait until both of these suspensions are over before getting a new license. Contact our firm for more information on reinstating your Texas Drivers License after a DWI today as well as a free consultation at 855-600-6695.
Texas Driver’s License Reinstatement Requirements After a DWI
Before you can get a new driver’s license, you must take care of several other things related to your suspension and other penalties These include:
- Obtain your certificate of completion if required to attend a drug or alcohol education program before your suspension ends; and
- Pay the reinstatement fee and other any administrative fees due; and
- Get a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate, known as an SR-22, from your auto insurance company
Texas makes it relatively easy to pay your fees online and submit your paperwork via email. Alternatively, you can submit a check and your paperwork through the mail. It is important to note that it could take up to three weeks to process your file and get your name cleared to get a license in the state system. This means you may have to wait up to 21 days before you can go to your local office to get a new license issued.
Once you complete the steps and you are once again eligible for a driver’s license in Texas, you can take the necessary paperwork to the local office and ask them to reinstate your Texas Drivers License after a DWI.
Getting an Occupational License After a Texas DWI
Not being able to drive can be more difficult to deal with than jail time or fines for some people. Many people need to drive back and forth to work, commute to school, or even get groceries to feed their family. Without a license, all of these tasks can be almost impossible. Luckily, there is an option to help you until you can get your license reinstated.
In some cases, those who received DWI suspensions may be eligible to apply for and get an occupational license. Sometimes known as an essential need license, this is a restricted permit that allows you to drive a non-commercial vehicle for specific activities.
An occupational license may allow you to continue working, caring for your family, or attending school while your license is suspended because of a DWI. This includes both administrative and criminal suspensions. Contact us at 855-600-6695 for additional information on what occurs if you drive on a suspended license, information on the Texas laws for temporary and restricted license as well as how many points are put on your license after a DWI.
A DWI Attorney May Be Able to Help You Avoid a License Suspension
If the police arrested you for a DWI and you face drunk driving charges, the legal team from Eddington Worley may be able to help you fight the allegations. If time permits, we can appeal your administrative license suspension and build a solid defense strategy to try to help you avoid criminal penalties.
We only have 15 days after your arrest to appeal an administrative suspension, so you will need to act quickly. Call our team as early in the process as possible and let us go to work for you. We will fight to protect your rights and help you avoid losing your license.
As a part of this process, we can try to:
- Appeal your administrative suspension.
- Fight the criminal charges against you.
- Negotiate a deal that allows you to avoid an additional criminal suspension.
- Help you apply for an occupational license.
Our team knows how police and prosecutors handle Texas DWI cases, and we know how to build a strong case for you. Let us review the facts of your arrest and get started on your case today.
Talk to a Member of Our Texas DWI Team About Your Case Today
If you face drunk driving charges in Texas, the team from Eddington Worley is here to help. We know how important your driver’s license is to you, and we want to help you keep it or get it back once your suspension is over. We can help you fight an administrative or criminal suspension, apply for an occupational license, or help you reinstate your license after a DWI.
Call our team at 855-600-6695 today to learn more about how we can help you.