The cost of a driving while intoxicated (DWI) conviction in Texas can easily reach $10,000 or more for a first-time offender. From fines, bail, and court costs to paying for insurance and your driver’s license reinstatement, these costs add up quickly.
Legal Consequences of a DWI Conviction
If you are guilty of a DWI — no matter if you plead guilty or the court finds you guilty — you will likely face a fine as a part of your sentence. For a first-time offender, your attorney may work to negotiate a lower fine.
If the court finds you guilty, you will be charged for the cost of processing your case. This is often several hundred dollars.
If the judge probates your sentence, you may be able to avoid jail time. However, you will likely need to pay a monthly fee for probation monitoring.
Alcohol Education Program
Attending an approved alcohol education course is often a part of your sentence or a term of probation following a Texas DWI. Enrollment in these mandatory courses can cost $100 or more.
Additional Costs Associated with a DWI Conviction in Texas
Your attorney will be one of the most substantial expenses related to your DWI arrest, and you will have to pay these fees no matter the outcome in your case. However, your attorney is your best tool in beating the charges you face.
Bail Bond Costs
Following your drunk or drugged driving arrest in Texas, you will likely need to pay bail to get out of jail. This requires either paying out cash to the court or working with a bail bondsman.
You can petition for an occupational license that allows you to drive to work, school, and other essential errands. However, there are some charges related to this petition:
- Filing fee
- License reinstatement fee
- Processing fee
Insurance and SR22
Before you can get your occupational licenses, you will need auto insurance with SR22. This allows the Department of Public Safety to monitor your insurance status. You will need SR22 for several years following your DWI conviction.
Ignition Interlock or Personal Monitoring
You may also need to pay for an ignition interlock device or personal monitoring device, depending on the terms of your sentence and probation. The companies who install and monitor these devices may require you to pay a deposit or an administrative fee before receiving the device in addition to monthly monitoring fees that may reach $100 or more.
You will need to pay a Department of Public Safety license surcharge and will face a significant increase in the cost of your insurance premiums.
Talk to a DWI Attorney About Your Texas Drunk Driving Arrest
One of the best ways to avoid the significant fees and expenses related to a DWI is to do everything you can to avoid the harsh penalties of a DWI conviction. The team from Eddington Worley Attorneys will help you fight the charges you face, developing a defense to avoid conviction or negotiate a deal for a lesser charge. Call us today at 855-600-6695 to learn more.