The penalty for vehicular manslaughter is up to 20 years in prison, significant fines, and other sanctions. Vehicular manslaughter is a grave charge and one you do not have to face alone. If the police arrested you after an accident, or you believe you may face charges, we are here to help. Reach out to the team from Eddington Worley today to learn more.
Defining “Vehicular Manslaughter” Under Texas Law
Texas law uses “manslaughter” to describe a situation where one person’s reckless action caused the death of another. Vehicular manslaughter occurs when a careless action behind the wheel takes the life of someone else. For example, if you were street racing, lost control, and caused a crash, you might face vehicular manslaughter charges if someone died in the accident.
Texas law also recognizes intoxication manslaughter. Intoxication manslaughter can occur in accidents resulting from:
- Driving while intoxicated
- Boating while intoxicated
- Flying while intoxicated
The penalties are the same for vehicular manslaughter and intoxication manslaughter, which could include jail time, probation, license suspension, and more.
Consequences of a Vehicular Manslaughter Conviction in Texas
Texas courts generally charge vehicular or intoxication manslaughter as a second-degree felony. If found guilty, you could face penalties that include:
- Two to 20 years in prison
- A fine of up to $10,000
- Community service and/or community supervision (i.e., probation)
- Other penalties
You may also face additional charges that come with their own consequences. For example, if someone died in a drunk driving accident you caused, you will likely also face DWI charges. This comes with a suspension of your driver’s license, its own fines, and potential jail time. You will also have a permanent mark on your criminal record that could impact your ability to get a job, rent an apartment, or obtain a professional license.
If you or a loved one is facing vehicular manslaughter charges, act quickly. Reach out to us today to learn more about how we may be able to help you fight the charges and pursue a more favorable outcome in your case.
Talk to a Texas Defense Attorney About Your Case Today
If you were in a Texas car accident and now face accusations of vehicular manslaughter or intoxication manslaughter, you do not have to try to fight these charges on your own. Enlist the help of an attorney familiar with DWI and vehicular manslaughter as soon as possible. Eddington Worley is here for you; we will not let you face this alone.
Vehicular manslaughter is a serious offense, and these charges will not just sort themselves out. You will have to fight to protect your rights and get a fair day in court. Our team will help every step of the way. Call us today at 855-600-6695 to get started.