If you have been arrested on a driving while intoxicated (DWI) charge, you could face significant legal, financial, and personal consequences. Texas has mandatory fines, driver license suspension periods, and jail sentences for first-time and repeat offenders. If you are facing charges, you should contact a DWI Lawyer & Drunk Driving Defense in Houston, TX as soon as possible.
Eddington Worley can be your safe and confidential legal advocate who stays by your side throughout your DWI case. While legal representation does not guarantee that your charges will be dismissed or reduced, we can negotiate with prosecutors on your behalf. We will also fight for a swift restoration of your license so that you can travel to work or school. Our lawyers can help during this stressful time. We encourage you to call (877) 721-3423 for a free consultation and information on the cost of a legal counsel.
What to Expect if You Are Arrested on a DWI Charge
Drunk driving has two consequences: criminal charges and suspension of your license. You will temporarily lose your license after being charged with a DWI even on a first-time offense. If you have prior DWI charges, however, you could face steeper penalties. There are also penalties if you had a child passenger under 15 or if fatalities occurred. Here are DWI sentencing guidelines under Texas law:
- Fine: Up to $2,000
- Incarceration: Ranges from three days to six months
- License Suspension: Up to one year
- Added costs: Annual fee from $1,000 to $2,000 for three years to keep driver license
- Fine: As much as $4,000
- Incarceration: From 30 days to a year
- License Suspension: Up to two years
- Added costs: Annual fee of $1,000, $1,500 or $2,000 for three years to keep driving rights
- Fine: $10,000
- Incarceration: Two to 10 years in prison (third offenses are considered felonies)
- License Suspension: Can be two years
- Added costs: Annual fee of $1,000, $1,500, or $2,000 for three years to keep driver license. If you have more than two DWI convictions in five years and still have a valid license, you must pay for a special ignition switch that prevents you from driving if you have been drinking.
Our Firm Can Help You with Criminal Charges and License Restoration
In many DWI cases, we can negotiate with the prosecuting attorney for a possible reduction of fines, jail time, and length of license suspension. This is known as plea bargaining. A lawyer from Eddington Worley has other legal tactics that can help you. For example, your license is automatically suspended after a DWI arrest. This is known as an Administrative License Revocation (ALR).
When this happens, you must request an ALR hearing within 15 days after being arrested. If you do not, you could lose your license 40 days from the date of your arrest. We understand how important driving is for your work, school, and home life, so we will request a hearing to try and get your driving privileges restored. That is why you should not hesitate to call Eddington Worley at (877) 721-3423 for not only a free consultation but to learn more about your situation, such as how many points are put on your license once you receive a DWI in Texas and if you must pay money to the other party in your DWI accident.
We Have Experienced Trial Lawyers Who Know DWI Laws
Talking to a police officer or court official is daunting for most people. A lawyer from Eddington Worley will speak on your behalf from the moment you select our firm. We will challenge and negotiate for a more favorable legal outcome.
We will use our knowledge of DWI laws to have your charges potentially reduced or dismissed. You are innocent until proven guilty, and it is your right to have a vigorous defense.
These are a few examples of legal strategies:
- Request a hearing to dispute your license suspension or to have your license returned more quickly.
- Negotiate a plea bargain for a DWI charge dropped to a lesser offense such as reckless driving.
- Seek removal of illegally obtained Blood or Breath Alcohol Content (BAC) evidence or questioning the validity of the testing equipment or administrator.
- Request deferred adjudication if the driver is underage.
- Get the case dismissed.
Our Firm also Handles Expunction Requests
A DWI charge can remain on your record for years. This means employers, creditors, and other parties will know about your arrest. Eddington Worley may be able to have your drunk driving charge removed. This is known legally as expungement. There are certain conditions that allow your charge to be hidden from employers. A DWI Lawyer & Drunk Driving Defense in Houston, TX can explain your options.
How Breath Test Results Could Impact Your DWI Charge
Chance are, the police officer who pulled you over asked you to take a field sobriety test. This roadside test might be walking heel-to-toe in a straight line or following an object with your eyes. It is also likely that the officer asked you to take a breathalyzer test. You are legally intoxicated if you have a .08 BAC or higher.
You have the right, however, to a blood test within two hours of your arrest. You pay for the test and select the healthcare professional to perform it. This step could negate or lessen the impact of a roadside breath test. A DWI Lawyer & Drunk Driving Defense in Houston, TX will also question the validity of the breath test. Certain health conditions like hyperglycemia, or high blood sugar, can trigger a false positive BAC level.
Finding Problems with Blood and Breath Tests
There are other reasons why a BAC test can be challenged, including:
- Qualifications of the person administering the test
- Improper calibration of the breath machine
- Lack of probable suspicions prompting the test’s administration
- Improper testing, storage, and handling procedures of a blood test
You do not have to face a DWI arrest or charge alone. The law firm of Eddington Worley is ready to help. For a free consultation, please call (877) 721-3423.