If the police arrested you and now you face McAllen, TX, drunk driving charges, the team from Eddington Worley is here to help. Drunk driving, known as DWI in Texas, is a serious charge. If convicted, you could face jail time, fines, and a driver’s license suspension. We can develop a strong defense strategy to help you fight the charges.
At Eddington Worley, we do not believe anyone should have to face criminal charges alone. A member of our team is standing by to review your case and explain how we can go to work for you. Let us protect your rights and fight for a more favorable outcome. Call us today to get started: 855-600-6695.
Eddington Worley Understands the Texas Drunk Driving Laws
Under Texas law, there are several charges you could face related to drinking and driving. Our team can help you understand the charges against you and explain any aggravating or mitigating circumstances based on the facts of your case. Some of the most common situations our clients find themselves in include:
- They refused to submit to breath or blood testing after a traffic stop; or
- They refused to test after a traffic accident; or
- They failed a breath or blood test after a traffic stop or accident; or
- They refused to submit to testing and later failed a mandatory test; or
- They are under the legal drinking age and refused to submit to a test; or
- They are under age 21, and a breath or blood test indicated alcohol in their system
If you are in any of these situations or face other DWI-related charges, reach out to us today. We know the types of evidence the District Attorney’s office will try to use against you and how to counter their arguments based on the facts of your case. If your arrest occurred in McAllen or elsewhere in Hidalgo County, our team can help. We also serve many other areas of the state. Let us review your case and go to work for you today.
Potential Penalties If Convicted of a McAllen, TX, DWI
Texas law treats drunk driving as a serious offense. The DWI penalties you may face if convicted are significant. You could lose your driver’s license for up to two years in addition to an administrative suspension. This alone could cost you your job or force you to quit school. Additionally, you could face:
- Mandatory enrollment in an Alcohol Education Program, 12 hours for first-time offenders
- Jail time
In many cases, we can help first-time offenders get their sentence probated. This means you may not have to serve the full time in jail or do without your driver’s license for the full time ordered. Instead, the Court may approve an agreement where you follow certain terms — often community service, abstaining from drugs and alcohol, and checking in regularly — for a set period and they will wipe out your sentence.
Violating the terms of this probation, however, could result in going to jail, losing your license, and being forced to pay the fines associated with your original sentence.
Administrative Consequences of a DWI Arrest
Under Texas law, you will receive an automatic Administrative License Revocation (ALR) at the time of your arrest. Regardless of the outcome of your criminal case, this revocation will begin 40 days after your citation unless you notify the Department of Public Safety of your intention to file an appeal.
You have 15 days following your arrest to file a written notice and request a hearing. At this hearing, the arresting officer will need to come and present the evidence against you to confirm your ALR. Even if we lose this appeal, we get a sneak peek at the case the prosecution has against you.
Let the Eddington Worley Team Fight the McAllen DWI Charges You Face
The team from Eddington Worley has fought for the rights of our clients for more than 20 years. We know where to look for mistakes in your DWI case and how to identify them. We may be able to find problems with the prosecution’s evidence against you or take other steps to build a strong defense strategy on your behalf.
While every case is different, some of the most common ways we can reach a more favorable outcome for our clients include:
- Presenting evidence that stops the District Attorney from pressing charges or convinces the Court to drop the charges
- Proving the police stopped you illegally or otherwise violated your rights
- Bringing into question the accuracy of testing equipment or procedures
- Negotiating a plea deal for a lesser charge
- Presenting a strong argument for acquittal in court
- Negotiating a deal for probation
If your license gets suspended, either through your ALR or through a criminal conviction, we can also help you petition for your occupational license. This type of limited privilege permit allows you to continue driving to work or school despite a suspension. You may need to install an ignition interlock device to get approved for this type of license.
Talk to a McAllen DWI Lawyer About Your Case
The DWI defense team from Eddington Worley is here for you. If the police arrested you for drunk driving or a related offense, we can stand by you and represent you throughout this process. Let us protect your rights and fight for a more favorable outcome.
Call us today at 855-600-6695 for a review of your case. A member of our team can answer your questions and explain our services, or we can go to work for you right away.